The castle was first mentioned in the document from 1273. In the past, it was one of the frontier castles built in the Malé Karpaty Mts. in the 13th century to protect the north-western frontiers of the Kingdom of Hungary. In the mid-18th century, the castle burnt and in 1810 the Napoleons troops destroyed it definitely.
Only its ruins remained on top of the limestone rock at the height of 486 m. At present, the ruins are often visited by hikers, as the top plain of the ruins offers an impressing view of the Záhorie Lowlands, the Pezinok and Devín Carpathians, as well as all the way to the valley of the Stupava Brook. On sunny days the sight of the ridges of the Austrian Alps beyond the frontier refreshes the panorama.