1
2

Military Cemeteries in Eastern Slovakia

Technical Herritage

During the World War I hard fights took place in eastern Slovakia, the region to which the good soldier Josef Švejk from the famous novel by Jaroslav Hašek was sent. The destroyed villages were newly built and the dead were buried on several military cemeteries.

During the World War I, a lot of dead remained on battlefields especially in the environs of Bardejov. As a matter of fact more than 100 cemeteries and burial places grew here during the years of the war.

More than 30,000 soldiers are buried on these cemeteries.

Loading map...
068 01MedzilaborceIn the strategic valley of the Laborec, 32 cemeteries are situated in 16 villages. The largest one can be found in Čabina, Krásny Brod, Zbudská Bela and Radvaň nad Laborcom (all of them are in the district of Medzilaborce).
Show Navigation

Online Services


Operation Times

Monday – Sunday00:0024:00

Weather Forecast

Today
Overcast clouds icon
Overcast clouds
8°C/ 7°CDay / Night
Light breeze, 2m/s
East
Tomorrow
Light rain icon
Light rain
11°C/ 6°CDay / Night
Light breeze, 2m/s
Southeast
Friday
Overcast clouds icon
Overcast clouds
8°C/ 4°CDay / Night
Light breeze, 3m/s
South
Saturday
Clear sky icon
Clear sky
9°C/ 3°CDay / Night
Light breeze, 3m/s
South
Sunday
Clear sky icon
Clear sky
9°C/ 5°CDay / Night
Moderate breeze, 7m/s
South
Monday
Overcast clouds icon
Overcast clouds
8°C/ 4°CDay / Night
Light breeze, 2m/s
Southwest
Tuesday
Light rain icon
Light rain
7°C/ 4°CDay / Night
Light breeze, 2m/s
Southwest

Places Around

Andy Warhol´s Fountain (Medzilaborce)

Andy Warhol´s Fountain (Medzilaborce)

The small town of Medzilaborce, situated in the south-east of Slovakia, boasts of two European primacies. After the establishment of the first museum named after Andy Warhol, Medzilaborce has also erected the first statue dedicated to this representative of world pop-art.

ZOO PARK in Stropkov

ZOO PARK in Stropkov

Opened all year round, the ZOO Park in the east-Slovak town of Stropkov, situated in the Nízke Beskydy Mts., is an attractive cultural and educational facility, the only one of its kind in Slovakia.

Dukla Pass Observation Tower

Dukla Pass Observation Tower

Standing in the open mountain pass of Dukla on the Slovak-Polish border you can see an observation tower offering a spectacular view of the Slovak and Polish territory – the background scenery of the fights during the Carpathian-Dukla operation.

Andy Warhol Museum of Modern Art Medzilaborce

Andy Warhol Museum of Modern Art Medzilaborce

As the first museum and art institution dedicated to Andy Warhol - a prominent personality of the 20th century art and the king of pop art - it is devoted primarily to the presentation of the works and life of Andy Warhol.

Miroľa - Greek Catholic wooden church

Miroľa - Greek Catholic wooden church

The Greek Catholic wooden church of theProtection of the Most Holy Mother of God from 1770. The log building consists of three parts and has three little towers. Wooden entrance gate with octagonal low roof covered by shingle stands in front of the church.

Príkra - church of St Michael the Archangel

Príkra - church of St Michael the Archangel

The Greek Catholic wooden church of St Michael the Archangel from 1777. The log building consists of three parts. Iconostas is from the mid-18th century, some icons are from the 17th century. Iconostas is a wooden polychromatic architecture with four rows of icons and tsar gate ornamented by woodcarvings and paint. It is from the mid-18th century. Some icons (Mandylion, St Michael, St Nicolas) are from the 17th century. The church was completely restored in 2001.

Bodružal – Church of St Nicolas

Bodružal – Church of St Nicolas

The Greek Catholic wooden Church of St Nicolas (Chrám sv. Mikuláša) was included in 2008, along with seven wooden churches of the Slovak part of Carpathian Mountain Area, on the UNESCO Word Heritage List.

Šemetkovce - church of St Michael the Archangel

Šemetkovce - church of St Michael the Archangel

The Greek Catholic church of St Michael the Archangel from1752. The church consists of three parts. It also has a wooden belfry. The area was originally surrounded by log fence with a little shingle roof. Iconostas is from the second half of the 18th century. The icons Resurrection of Lazar, St. Michael and some other are from the 17th century. Iconostas and altar were restored in 1969-1970. The compound was reconstructed in 2001.

Nižný Komárnik - Greek Catholic wooden church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God

Nižný Komárnik - Greek Catholic wooden church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God

The Greek Catholic wooden church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of Godfrom 1938 was built to the design of the Ukrainian architect and researcher involved with popular architecture V. Sichynsky. It is a typical structure of Boyko type, one-nave log building standing on taller masonry. The interior decoration is from the time when the church was built, but its iconostas is from the 18th century.

Krajné Čierno - church of St Basil the Great

Krajné Čierno - church of St Basil the Great

The Greek Catholic church of St Basil the Great from the 18th century (probably from 1730). The log building consists of three parts and is covered by shingle roof with three little towers. Part of this architectural compound is the log fence with shingle protective roof and wooden entrance gate. The Baroque iconostas is from the 18th century, individual icons are from the 17th century. Some picture (icon of St Michael the Archangel, St Nicolas, etc.) are from the 17th century.

Vyšný Komárnik - church of Sts Cosmo and Damian

Vyšný Komárnik - church of Sts Cosmo and Damian

The Greek Catholic wooden church of Sts Cosmo and Damian from 1924. It is a three-space church with a three-tier tower. The interior of the church and iconostas are from the time when the church was built.

Hunkovce - church of the Sleeping Most Holy Mother of God

Hunkovce - church of the Sleeping Most Holy Mother of God

The Greek Catholic wooden church of the Sleeping Most Holy Mother of God from the end of the 18th century. It was repaired in 1947. It consists of three parts. This Baroque log structure stands on low stone masonry. The original interior decoration is missing. Some precious icons have been deposited in the Museum of Šariš in Bardejov. The church stands in the cemetery with old crosses.